For Immediate Release: January 5, 2022

WASHINGTON, DC – Ahead of the first anniversary of the January 6th insurrection at the U.S. Capitol, more than 40 organizations and leaders of the gender equity community released a joint statement pledging to fight for our democracy. 

“One year ago – January 6, 2021 – a violent mob of anti-democratic insurrectionists attacked the U.S. Capitol in a failed attempt to overturn the 2020 election results. The sexism, racism and othering exhibited that day have roots in the misogyny and white supremacy that have long fueled violence and discrimination in this country. When those hateful beliefs and violence go unchallenged and are instead amplified by those in power, our very democracy is at risk. That is why there must be full accountability for all those involved in the insurrection and its continued disinformation. To do anything less is to further risk the erosion of our country and our values of equity, justice and fairness. 

Our community of multi-racial, multi-generational gender justice leaders represents women, girls and gender nonconforming people from every corner of this nation. We remain as strongly united in our commitment to protect democracy as we were one year ago. We will not back down. We are organizing day in and day out in 2022 to ensure that our voices are heard and our democracy is protected. And we need leaders who represent us– running for office and building the democracy we deserve.

Today, our democracy, our bodies and our dignity are still at stake. Lawmakers in 49 states have proposed more than 500 bills making it harder for people to vote. Our time to act is now. We urge all Americans to contact their Senators and demand that they support the John Lewis Voting Rights Advancement Act and the Freedom to Vote Act. 

Anti-freedom politicians are trying to sabotage our elections and take control over the most personal freedom we have — determining what happens to our own bodies, lives and futures. When the right to vote is under attack, abortion and all gender and racial justice issues are under attack. We are urging lawmakers to protect voting rights using every means at their disposal, so that we may achieve economic, social, and physical freedom for all women, girls, and people of marginalized genders.”

The coalition was led by the United State of Women and includes:

 #WinWithBlackWomen, 9to5, American Association of People with Disabilities, American Association of University Women (AAUW), Black Women’s Roundtable, NCBCP, EMILY’s List, End Rape On Campus, ERA Coalition, Esperanza United (Formerly Casa de Esperanza: National Latin@ Network), Feminist Majority Foundation, Girls for Gender Equity, Higher Heights for America, In Our Own Voice: National Black Women’s Reproductive Justice Agenda, It’s On Us, Jewish Women International (JWI), Justice for Migrant Women, Liberation for Us, Marshall Plan for Moms, MomsRising, Ms. Magazine, NARAL Pro-Choice America, National Action Network, National Asian Pacific American Women’s Forum (NAPAWF), National Council of Jewish Women, National Crittenton, National Domestic Workers Alliance, National Network to End Domestic Violence, National Partnership for Women & Families, National Urban League, National Women’s Law Center, Paid Leave for All, Planned Parenthood Action Fund, Service Employees International Union (SEIU), Supermajority, UltraViolet, United State of Women, Vote Run Lead, Women’s Foundation California, Women’s March, YWCA USA 

Amanda Brown Lierman (Supermajority), Anna Chu (National Women’s Law Center), Bia f Vieira (Women’s Foundation California), Carrie Hatfield (National Crittenton), Catherine V. Beane (YWCA USA), Ebonie Riley (National Action Network), Eleanor Smeal (Feminsit Majority Foundation), Erin Vilardi (Vote Run Lead), Heather Booth, Jeannette Pai-Espinosa (National Crittenton), Joanne N. Smith (Girls for Gender Equity), Jocelyn Frye (National Partnership for Women & Families), Joi Olivia Chaney (National Urban League), Jordan Brooks (United State of Women), Jotaka Eaddy (#WinWithBlackWomen), Joycelyn Tate, Katherine Spillar (Ms. magazine), Kathleen E Washington, Kenyora Lenair Parham, MSW (End Rape On Campus), Kristin Rowe-Finkbeiner (MomsRising), Laphonza Butler (EMILY’s List), Marcela Howell (In Our Own Voice: National Black Women’s Reproductive Justice Agenda), Margaret Mitchell (YWCA USA), Maria Town (American Association of People with Disabilities), Mary Kay Henry (Service Employees International Union (SEIU)), Meredith Jacobs (Jewish Women International (JWI)), Mini Timmaraju (NARAL Pro-Choice America), Monica Ramirez (Justice for Migrant Women), Patti Tototzintle (Esperanza United (Formerly Casa de Esperanza: National Latin@ Network)), Rachel O’Leary Carmona (Women’s March), Sarah McPherson (End Rape on Campus), Shaunna Thomas (UltraViolet), Sheila Katz (National Council of Jewish Women), Shirley J Wilcher, Silvia Zenteno (It’s On Us), Tracey Vitchers (It’s On Us), Vicki Shabo